Ready For Trial

Habitual Traffic Offenders in New Hampshire

January 14, 2016

Category:

Researched and Prepared by: Attorney Amy Manchester for Bowser Law

A habitual traffic offender can be either a resident of New Hampshire or an out-of-state resident. If your driving record reflects that you have accumulated a certain amount or combination of both major and minor motor vehicle violations over a period of five years, you will become a habitual traffic offender.

A driver will be certified as a habitual traffic offender if he or she has been convicted of three major motor vehicle violations over a five-year period. You may be wondering, what is a “major” motor vehicle violation? New Hampshire has a long list of traffic violations that are considered to be “major” for the purposes of certification as a habitual traffic offender. Major motor vehicle violations include but are not limited to Driving While Intoxicated, Reckless Driving, Driving After Suspension, Negligent Operation and Transportation of a Controlled Substance. A full list of major motor vehicle violations can be found in NH RSA 259:39(I)(a-v).

A driver will also be certified as a habitual traffic offender if he or she has been convicted of twelve minor motor vehicle violations over a five-year period. Minor motor vehicle violations are a shorter list and include speeding. A full list of minor motor vehicle violations can be found in NH RSA 259:39(II)(a-d).

If a driver’s record shows that he or she has been convicted of a combination of 1 major motor vehicle violation and 8 minor violations over a period of five years, that person will be certified as a habitual traffic offender. Additionally, if a driver has been convicted of a combination of 2 major motor vehicle violations and 4 minor violations over a period of five years, that driver can also be certified as a habitual traffic offender.

If a driver is certified as a Habitual Traffic Offender, he will face a period of suspension ranging from one to four years. A habitual traffic offender is able to restore his license but must petition the Department of Motor Vehicles after the period of suspension has ended.

If a driver is certified as a Habitual Traffic Offender and drives during the period of suspension, he can face 1-5 years of incarceration and a fine up to $4,000.00.

What is the Bowser Law Difference?

Mike Bowser has unique experience and knowledge which he uses to protect his clients.

  • Mike Bowser is the only Board Certified DUI Defense Specialist who practices in MA, NH & ME. This means he had to pass rigorous examinations and interviews about his knowledge of DUI law to become certified.
  • Clients who have hired Mike Bowser LOVE him! Take one look at his reviews and you will see why Mike Bowser is The Most Reviewed 5 Star DUI Defense Lawyer Practicing in MA, NH & ME!
  • He uses his deep understanding of forensic science to pick apart the evidence against you and looks for errors that he can challenge. He then carefully prepares your case with the goal of highlighting these issues and putting you in the best possible position.
  • He is a ruthless cross-examiner who is at home in the courtroom.Judges, prosecutors, and police officers often praise his professionalism and knowledge.

If you are facing a DUI charge, don’t delay. Call now to setup your
free, detailed consultation at

(888) 526-9737

25 years of Proven Personal Injury Results.

(888) 526-9737