board-certified-dui-defense-lawyer

DUI Defense Specialist – Board Certified

new-hampshire-massachusetts-dual-state

Tri State Protection for MA, NH & ME

MA OUI Defense and Massachusetts OUI Penalties

OUI is a very severe charge under Massachusetts drunk driving law! Below you can read a list of the Massachusetts OUI penalties for a conviction of Driving/Operating Under the Influence for the first, second, third, fourth and fifth offenses in Massachusetts. Some of the Massachusetts OUI penalties can change your life forever. When you find yourself facing OUI charges, it is of the utmost importance to have experienced, PROVEN legal representation in Massachusetts drunk driving law cases. Let Attorney Bowser protect your legal rights. Contact him at 888-526-9737 between 9AM and 5PM, or send Attorney Bowser details of your arrest using the form to the right.

Massachusetts OUI penalties can differ depending on the facts of your individual case, as well as the nature of the charges you’re facing. License suspension penalties for breath test refusals may apply in Massachusetts drunk driving law cases.

FIRST OFFENSE OUI/DUI:

FINES: $500 – $5,000

JAIL: up to 2.5 years

LICENSE SUSPENSION:Up to 1 Year suspension

ALTERNATIVE DISPOSITION: Mandatory 16 week alcohol drug education; 1 year probation; license suspension 45-90 days (210 day suspension if under the age of 21). Hardship License if eligible

SECOND OFFENSE OUI/DUI:

FINES: $600 – $10,000

JAIL: not less than 60 days – 2.5 years, mandatory minimum 30 days

LICENSE SUSPENSION: 2 year suspension (may be eligible for work and Hardship license after 12 months, or for a general Hardship license after 18 months)

ALTERNATIVE DISPOSITION: 14 days in-patient alcohol treatment program; installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for 2 years; 2 year License Suspension (may be eligible for work and education Hardship License after 12 months or general Hardship License after 18 months). No Hardship License eligibility for 3 additional years if breath test was refused

THIRD OFFENSE OUI/DUI:

FINES: $1,000 – $15,000

JAIL: 180 days – 5 years, mandatory minimum 150 days

LICENSE SUSPENSION: 8 year suspension (may be eligible for work or education Hardship License after 2 years or general Hardship License after 4 years. No Hardship License eligibility for an additional 5 years if breath test was refused

OTHER: mandatory vehicle seizure, installation of ignition interlock device required for license reinstatement

No Alternate Disposition is available for a third offense Massachusetts DUI/OUI conviction

FOURTH OFFENSE OUI/DUI:

FINES: $1,500 – $25,000

JAIL: 2 years – 5 years, mandatory minimum 1 year

LICENSE SUSPENSION: 10 year suspension (may be eligible for a work or education Hardship License after 5 years or general Hardship License after 8 years

OTHER: Possible mandatory vehicle forfeiture, installation of ignition interlock device required for license reinstatement

No Alternate Disposition is available for a fourth offense Massachusetts DUI/OUI conviction

FIFTH OFFENSE OUI/DUI:

FINES: $2,000 – $50,000

JAIL: 2.5 years – 5 years, mandatory minimum 24 months

LICENSE SUSPENSION: Lifetime suspension (no Hardship License eligibility)

OTHER: Possible mandatory vehicle forfeiture

No Alternate Disposition is available for a fifth offense Massachusetts DUI/OUI conviction

OUI/DUI WITH CHILD ENDANGERMENT:

FINES: $1,000 – $5,000

JAIL: mandatory minimum 90 days – 2.5 years

LICENSE SUSPENSION: 1 year for first offense, 3 years for second or subsequent offense, in addition to the license suspension penalty imposed under the DUI/OUI charge (to be served consecutively)

MANSLAUGHTER BY MOTOR VEHICLE:

FINES: Up to $25,000

JAIL: Mandatory minimum 5 years – maximum 20 years in prison

LICENSE SUSPENSION: Mandatory minimum 15 year suspension – maximum lifetime suspension

DUI/OUI VEHICULAR HOMICIDE:

JAIL: Mandatory minimum 2.5 years in prison – maximum 15 years in prison

LICENSE SUSPENSION: Lifetime driver’s license revocation; substantial fines

VEHICULAR HOMICIDE WHILE OPERATING TO ENDANGER:

FINES: Substantial fines

JAIL: Mandatory minimum 30 days in jail – maximum 2.5 years

LICENSE SUSPENSION: 15 year license suspension

What is the Bowser Law Difference?

Mike Bowser has unique experience and knowledge which he uses to protect his clients.

  • Mike Bowser is the only Board Certified DUI Defense Specialist who practices in MA, NH & ME. This means he had to pass rigorous examinations and interviews about his knowledge of DUI law to become certified.
  • Because he practices in all three states, Mike Bowser knows how to handle the complications that arise when you are charged as an out of state driver.
  • Clients who have hired Mike Bowser LOVE him! Take one look at his reviews and you will see why Mike Bowser is The Most Reviewed 5 Star DUI Defense Lawyer Practicing in MA, NH & ME!
  • He uses his deep understanding of forensic science to pick apart the evidence against you and looks for errors that he can challenge. He then carefully prepares your case with the goal of highlighting these issues and putting you in the best possible position.
  • He is a ruthless cross-examiner who is at home in the courtroom. Judges, prosecutors, and police officers often praise his professionalism and knowledge.

If you are facing a DUI charge, don’t delay. Call now to setup your
free, detailed consultation at

(888) 526-9737