What happens to my Massachusetts license if I get a DUI in New Hampshire?

August 31, 2011

Category:

My practice has been both in Massachusetts and New Hampshire for fifteen years and I maintain offices, an office in Nashua, New Hampshire and an office in Chelmsford. I spend about 50% of my time in the state of New Hampshire and their courts, and the rest of my time are in the state of Massachusetts, so I’m very familiar with what happens typically to a Massachusetts driver when they get arrested in New Hampshire. The only entity that can take away a Massachusett’s driver’s driver’s license is the Massachusetts court or the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles. When you are arrested in New Hampshire, as a Mass resident, you’re going to be asked to take a chemical test – breath, blood, urine test – after your arrest for a DUI. If you refuse that test, or if you submit to that test and you test over, your privilege to drive a motor vehicle in the state of New Hampshire will be suspended for at least 180 days and that goes into effect 30 days after your arrest. That does not mean that your Massachusetts driver’s license is suspended or revoked. There is reciprocity between the two states, and you will, if you’re suspended in New Hampshire for a chemical test refusal or testing over, and later if your convicted or you’ve plead out to a DUI, you will receive notice from the Massachusett’s registry that they know about what happened in New Hampshire, through the National Driver Registration, and through that National Driver Registry they inform you, by way of a letter from the Mass Registry, that we know you’re suspended in New Hampshire, therefore, effective fourteen days out, your Mass license will be revoked. And it’s going to be revoked for either an indefinite period of time or a set period of time based on a conviction in a court. So essentially a Massachusetts driver, if arrested in New Hampshire or any other state, still has a valid Mass license but they can expect there to be a reciprocal suspension later on of their Mass license based on the consequences in that other state.

What is the Bowser Law Difference?

Mike Bowser has unique experience and knowledge which he uses to protect his clients.

  • Mike Bowser is the only Board Certified DUI Defense Specialist who practices in MA, NH & ME. This means he had to pass rigorous examinations and interviews about his knowledge of DUI law to become certified.
  • Because he practices in all three states, Mike Bowser knows how to handle the complications that arise when you are charged as an out of state driver.
  • Clients who have hired Mike Bowser LOVE him! Take one look at his reviews and you will see why Mike Bowser is The Most Reviewed 5 Star DUI Defense Lawyer Practicing in MA, NH & ME!
  • He uses his deep understanding of forensic science to pick apart the evidence against you and looks for errors that he can challenge. He then carefully prepares your case with the goal of highlighting these issues and putting you in the best possible position.
  • He is a ruthless cross-examiner who is at home in the courtroom. Judges, prosecutors, and police officers often praise his professionalism and knowledge.

If you are facing a DUI charge, don’t delay. Call now to setup your
free, detailed consultation at

(888) 526-9737

25 years of Proven Results.

(888) 526-9737