Ready For Trial

Maine OUI Penalties for a First Offense

February 28, 2019

Category:

If you are charged with an OUI in Maine, it is important to have the right information about the possible sentencing. Below is a chart that highlights the penalties for a first offense OUI in Maine.

With No Aggravating Factors
License Suspension:
150 days
Conditional License (Zero Tolerance):
Minimum 1 year. A conditional license can be suspended for 1 year for any amount of alcohol and 2 years for a refusal to submit to a chemical test.
Jail:
No Mandatory Minimum
Minimum Fine:
$500
With Aggravating Factors
License Suspension:
150 days
Conditional License (Zero Tolerance):
Minimum 1 year.
Jail:
Minimum 48 hours
Minimum Fine:
$500
Aggravating Factors include:
  • BAC of .15% or higher
  • “Chemical Test Refusal” can be considered an aggravating factor at sentencing, after conviction of OUI, and could subject you to mandatory minimum period of incarceration.
  • Exceeding the speed limit by 30 MPH or more
  • Attempting to elude a police officer
  • Having a passenger under 21. There is an additional 275 day license suspension if transporting a passenger under 21.
Refusal of Chemical Test
License Suspension:
275 days. This license suspension is served in addition to any suspension imposed due to the criminal charge.
Conditional License (Zero Tolerance):
Jail:
Minimum 96 hours
Minimum Fine:
$600

As you can see, even for a first offense, you are facing a lengthy license suspension and in many cases, possible jail time. This is why it is in your best interest to obtain professional legal advice so you know your options.

Attorney Mike Bowser is the only Board Certified DUI Defense Specialist who practices in Maine, New Hampshire & Massachusetts. He has 200 five star reviews from satisfied OUI clients. Call now to set up your free case consultation at 888-526-9737.

What is the Bowser Law Difference?

Mike Bowser has unique experience and knowledge which he uses to protect his clients.

  • Mike Bowser is the only Board Certified DUI Defense Specialist who practices in MA, NH & ME. This means he had to pass rigorous examinations and interviews about his knowledge of DUI law to become certified.
  • Because he practices in all three states, Mike Bowser knows how to handle the complications that arise when you are charged as an out of state driver.
  • Clients who have hired Mike Bowser LOVE him! Take one look at his reviews and you will see why Mike Bowser is The Most Reviewed 5 Star DUI Defense Lawyer Practicing in MA, NH & ME!
  • He uses his deep understanding of forensic science to pick apart the evidence against you and looks for errors that he can challenge. He then carefully prepares your case with the goal of highlighting these issues and putting you in the best possible position.
  • He is a ruthless cross-examiner who is at home in the courtroom. Judges, prosecutors, and police officers often praise his professionalism and knowledge.

If you are facing a DUI charge, don’t delay. Call now to setup your
free, detailed consultation at

(888) 526-9737

25 years of Proven Personal Injury Results.

(888) 526-9737