Ready For Trial

OUI penalties in Massachusetts

August 6, 2018

Category:

Operating under the Influence (OUI) carries some severe penalties under Massachusetts law. Many drivers underestimate how much trouble they are in because maybe they “have never been in trouble before”. Therefore, they make the mistake of not hiring an attorney or hiring a cheap, inexperienced lawyer. Before they realize it, they are facing some harsh consequences. OUI penalties are nothing to take lightly.

Here is a summary of the OUI penalties in Massachusetts

First OUI Offense

License Suspension:
1 Year
Fines:
$500-$5,000
Jail:
Up to 2.5 years

Second OUI Offense

License Suspension:
2 Years
Fines:
$600-$10,000
Jail:
30 days to 2.5 years

Third OUI Offense

License Suspension:
8 Years
Fines:
$1,000-$15,000
Jail:
150 days to 5 years

Fourth OUI Offense

License Suspension:
10 Years Minimum
Fines:
$1,500-$25,000
Jail:
1 to 5 years

Fifth OUI Offense

License Suspension:
Permanent
Fines:
$2,000-$50,000
Jail:
2-5 Years

Call now for your free case consultation. If you are an out of state resident, we can make sure that you don’t have to show up for every court date and miss time from work.
Call now: (888) 526-9737

*The one year license suspension option is rarely implemented for a first offense. Typically, the license suspension is 45-60 days or 90 days.


As you can see. you could face jail time and a lengthy license suspension even if it is your first offense. Losing your license will severely change your quality of life and make it both expensive and time consuming for you to get to work and other places you need to go.

The best thing you can do for yourself is get the right legal help from an experienced trial lawyer. If you want to fight, call us now: (888) 526-9737.

23 years of Proven Personal Injury Results.

(888) 526-9737

[gravityform id="2" title="false" description="false" ajax="true"]